56th Filmfare Awards 2011 winners list

06 Feb

katrina kaif filmfare awards 2011 200x248, Shah Rukh Khan and Kajol won the best actor and actress award respectively for “My Name Is Khan” at the 56th Filmfare Awards Saturday, which was ruled by small budget movie “Udaan” that bagged as many as eight trophies.

Karan Johar walked away with the best director award for “My Name Is Khan”, while Salman Khan starrer “Dabangg” was declared the best film at the gala event, hosted by Ranbir Kapoor and Imran Khan. The two were at their wittiest best.

But it’s the first-time director Vikramaditya Motwane’s “Udaan” that bagged maximum awards. The film won the best screenplay and the best story for Motwane and Anurag Kashyap; best cinematography for Mahendra Shetty; best background score for Amit Trivedi; best supporting actor male for Ronit Roy; and best film (jury).

“Udaan” also won the best director (jury) award for Motwane and best sound design for Kunal Sharma. Pritam Das also won the same award for “Love Sex Aur Dhokha”.

“Dabangg”, the most successful film of 2010, won five awards including best action for Vijayan Master; best debutant female for Sonakshi Sinha; and best music for Sajid-Wajid and Lalit Pandit.

Namrata Sharma won the best female singer for “Munni” in “Dabangg” and shared it with Sunidhi Chauhan, who won it for “Sheila ki jawani” (“Tees Maar Khan”).

Light-hearted romantic film “Band Baaja Baaraat” walked away with three awards – best debut director for Manish Sharma, best debut actor male for Ranveer Singh and best dialogue trophy for Habib Faisal.

Habib Faisal’s directorial venture “Do Dooni Chaar”, about a middle-class family, too bagged three awards – best production design for Mukund Gupta; best costume for Varsha and Shilpa; and Rishi Kapoor walked away with the best actor (jury) trophy for playing a mathematics teacher who goes through various problems to buy a car.

Farah Khan walked away with the best choreography award for “Sheila Ki Jawani” from her directorial venture “Tees Maar Khan”.

The best male singer award went to Rahat Fateh Ali Khan for crooning “Dil toh baccha hai ji” in “Ishqiya” and the song also won best lyrics award for Gulzar.

Vidya Balan got the best actress (jury) award for playing a conniving and scheming woman in “Ishqiya”.

Kareena Kapoor walked away with best supporting actress for “We Are Family”.

Namrata Rao won the best editing award for her work in Dibakar Banerjee’s experimental film “Love Sex Aur Dhokha”.

Ninety-year-old legendary singer Manna De got the lifetime achievement award, while Bollywood megastar Amitabh Bachchan was honoured for his forty years in Hindi cinema and his so-called arch rival Shah Rukh Khan gave him the award.


Best Actor In A Leading Role (Male)
Shah Rukh Khan – My Name Is Khan

Best Actor In A Leading Role (Female)
Kajol – My Name Is Khan

Best Film

Best Director
Karan Johar – My Name Is Khan

Best Film (Critics)

Best Actor Male (Critics)
Rishi Kapoor – Do Dooni Chaar

Best Actor Female (Critics)
Vidya Balan (Ishqiya)

Best Actor In Supporting Role (Male)
Ronit Roy – Udaan

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female)
Kareena Kapoor – We Are Family

Best Sensational Debut (Male)
Ranveer Singh – Band Bajaa Baaraat

Best Sensational Debut (Female)
Sonakshi Sinha – Dabangg

Best Debut Director
Maneesh Sharma (Band Baaja Baraat)

Best Playback Singer (Male)
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan – Dil Toh Baccha Hai Ji (Ishqiya)

Best Playback Singer (Female)
Mamta Sharma – Munni Badnaam Hui (Dabangg)
Sunidhi Chauhan – Sheila Ki Jawani (Tees Maar Khan)

Best Story
Anurag Kashyap and Vikramaditya Motwane – Udaan

Best Music
Sajid – Wajid & Lalit Pandit (Dabangg)

Best Lyrics
Gulzar – Dil Toh Baccha Hai Ji (Ishqiya)

Best Dialogue
Habib Faisal – Band Baaja Baaraat

Best Choreography
Farah Khan – Sheila Ki Jawani (Tees Maar Khan)

Best Action
Vijayan Master – Dabangg

Best Screenplay
Vikramaditya Motwane and Anurag Kashyap – Udaan

Best Background Score
Amit Trivedi – Udaan

Best Costumes
Varsha Shilpa – Do Dooni Chaar

Best Editing
Namrata Rao – Love Sex Aur Dhokha

Best Cinematography
Mahendra Shetty – Udaan

Best Sound Design
Pritam Das – Love Sex Aur Dhokha
Kunal Sharma – Udaan

Best Production Design
Mukund Gupta – Do Dooni Chaar

R. D. Burman Music Award
Sneha Khanwalkar – Love Sex Aur Dhokha

Sony Best Scene Of The Year
Golmaal 3

Lifetime Achievement Award
Manna Dey

40 Years Of Greatness Award
Amitabh Bachchan

Leave a comment

Posted by on February 6, 2011 in Uncategorized


Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: