RSS

Lady Gaga’s sorry she called Madonna comparisons ‘retarded’

25 Apr

Lady Gaga’s sorry she called Madonna comparisons ‘retarded’

Mother Monster Lady Gaga made a faux paw when she let the “R” word slip during an interview with NME magazine.

The 25-year-old was firing back at accusations that her song ‘Born This Way’ is a rip-off of Madonna’s ‘Express Yourself’, saying, “I’m a songwriter. I’ve written loads of music. Why would I try to put out a song and think I’m getting one over on everybody? That’s retarded.”

That’s not all:

“If you put the songs next to each other, side by side, the only similarities are the chord progression,” Gaga told NME. “It’s the same one that’s been in disco music for the last 50 years. Just because I’m the first f****** artist in 25 years to think of putting it on Top 40 radio, it doesn’t mean I’m a plaigarist, it means I’m smart. Sorry.”

But, as Jennifer Aniston learned last year, dropping the “R” word is not OK, and Gaga’s since apologized.

“I consider it part of my life’s work and music to push the boundaries of love and acceptance,” Gaga told CNN in a statement. “My apologies for not speaking thoughtfully. To anyone that was hurt, please know that it was furiously unintentional.”

She continues, “An honest mistake, requires honesty to make. Whether life’s disabilities, left you outcast bullied or teased, rejoice and love yourself today.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
